Dr Tatiana Besset
Dr Tatiana Besset

Dr. Tatiana Besset was educated in chemistry at the University of Grenoble (France) in the group of Dr. Andrew E. Greene, where she obtained her doctoral degree in 2009. She then moved to the Westfälische Wilhelms Universität Münster (Germany) as a postdoctoral fellow in the group of Prof. Frank Glorius (Rh C-H bond activation).

In 2011, she joined the group of Prof. Joost N. H. Reek at the University of Amsterdam (the Netherlands), as a postdoctoral fellow in collaboration with the Eastman company where she was working on supramolecular encapsulated rhodium catalysts for branched selective hydroformylation of alkenes.

From 2012-2021, she was a CNRS Associate Researcher (habilitation in 2018) in the “Fluorinated Biomolecules Synthesis” group at the laboratory COBRA (UMR 6014, Rouen, France) and she was promoted to Director of Research CNRS (senior scientist) in 2022. Her research career has been recognized with different awards and honors such as the ERC Starting Grant (2017), the Bronze medal of the CNRS (Young Investigator Award 2018), the Jean-Pierre Sauvage 2018 Prize awarded by the Division of Organic Chemistry (DCO) of “Société Chimique de France” (SCF) and the Thieme Chemistry Journals Award (2020).

In 2022, she was elected as Chemistry Europe Fellow Class 2020/21 and received the RSC Fluorine Chemistry Award in 2023. Her research involves the design of new transformations involving transition-metal catalysis (C-H bond activation) and the development of new strategies in organofluorine chemistry.